Eggs or How It All Began

My 2nd or 3rd time poaching an egg! I was pretty happy with the result with the white fairly intact and the yolk cooked with a lovely runny centre.

Like mother, like daughter.  Like my mom, I started cooking at a very young age.  And like my mom, I started cooking at a fairly early age for survival.  But that’s where the similarity ends … my first-born mom had to cook in order to prove herself useful to her family who were hoping for a son.  Mine was simply a matter of rescuing my developing taste buds from certain obliteration if my dad kept making breakfast!  My mom had gone back to work when I was about 9 or 10 which meant that  it was up to my father to ensure that I ate a good breakfast before I headed off to school.  My father’s idea of a “good breakfast” consisted of bacon cooked in the toaster oven until it wilted and the fat was just this side of translucent.  Then, he would crack a few eggs into the tray which held the bacon drippings, pop them back into the toaster oven and then cook them until the yolk was hard and the whites were brown underneath and ultra crispy along the edges … egg white chips, anyone?  Ugh.  A few years of that and I decided to take a “crack” at making breakfast … I figured that I had nothing left to lose at this point.  So, suffice to say that I’ve been making eggs for a very long time and think that my scrambled eggs would hold up to Gordon Ramsey’s critical taste buds if he showed up on my doorstep unexpectedly demanding something to eat.  I’ve had “bad egg” days where when I’ve cooked an overeasy and it broke while flipping, it ruined my day … at least until I had eaten it!  Poaching was probably the last egg technique that I mastered … before that, I “cheated” cooking them using my Henrietta egg cooker which I still have because it’s just so darn cute!  But here’s how I make my scrambled eggs: I measure a little less than half an eggshell of milk to every egg I use.  I scramble the eggs in a bowl until the yolk is fully incorporated into the mixture and add a little bit of pepper (I don’t put in salt, but that’s because I’m trying to cut back).  Then, I get a fairly hot pan, add some margarine … ideally Becel and NEVER butter (I actually can’t stand the smell of eggs cooking in butter … it completely nauseates me), and then quickly add the eggs to the pan.  I think the key is in the cooking … I fold the eggs in the pan … as soon as one part gets cooked, I move the eggs around in sweeping  strokes.  I cook the eggs until they’re still a little runny and then remove from the heat immediately and serve.  The result is soft, fluffy and tender eggs.  Sometimes there is a bit of weeping, but I don’t think that’s a huge deal if there’s a little “egg juice” leftover (I think Alton would disagree!).  Also, as you can tell from the photo above, I don’t buy into the notion of matching your pepper to the colour of your food.  I love the look of freshly ground black pepper on white food (like a carbonara pasta) – I think it just adds a lovely note of realness to it.  Yum yum!

Leave a Reply

